Telemarketer Registration Requirements & Forms
Notice to Charitable Organizations, Paid Solicitors, and Telephonic Sellers
The Department of Law adopted regulations (PDF - 919K) that change the filing requirements for the registration of charitable organizations, paid solicitors, and telephonic sellers.
For telephonic sellers, revised registration forms will be available on the Department of Law website soon.
For charitable organizations and paid solicitors:
- New registration forms for charitable organizations and paid solicitors are now available on this website. Charitable organizations and paid solicitors must use the new registration forms to register in 2016.
- The Department of Law will no longer be accepting the Unified Registration Statement (URS) for charitable organization registration. Charitable organizations will not be required to provide a copy of their IRS Form 990, audited financial statement, or contract with paid solicitors at the time they register.
- Charitable organizations and paid solicitors can pay registration fees and register online.
Telephonic Solicitation Registration Requirements:
Telephonic sellers (i.e., telemarketers) are required to register with the Alaska Department of Law at least 30 days prior to commencing any telephonic sales in the state. The registration form may be downloaded from the link below, or you may request the registration form from the Department. The completed form should be returned to:
Alaska Department of Law
Commercial, Fair Business & Child Support Section
1031 West 4th Avenue, Suite 200
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
Failure to register with the Department of Law prior to commencing telephonic sales is a class C felony, and subjects the seller to civil penalties under the Alaska Consumer Protection Act of up to $25,000 for each violation.
The Telephonic Solicitation Act requires that a telephonic seller within the first 15 seconds of a call clearly disclose the seller’s name and phone number, whom the seller represents, and that the call is a sales call. If the person receiving the call indicates that he or she is not interested in the solicitation, the seller must hang up promptly. Also, that Act requires a telephonic seller to get a signed written contract from the buyer before accepting payment.
Telephonic sellers must also comply with Alaska's do not call provisions found at AS 45.50.475. It is a violation of the Consumer Protection Act for a person to call a consumer who is registered with the do not call registry, to call a consumer who has previously told the business or charitable organization that they do not wish to be solicited, or to originate a call using an automated or recorded message as an advertisement or solicitation.
Certain telephonic solicitations are exempt from many of the registration requirements. Please read AS 45.63.080 to determine if you are an exempt entity. Even if you are an exempt entity, you will still need to:
- Comply with the buyer’s cancellation rights under AS 45.63.030(a) and (b)
- Provide certain information in the first 15 seconds of the call, under AS 45.63.045(a), and
- Terminate the call if the consumer objects to the solicitation or indicates he or she is not interested in the goods or services being offered. AS 45.63.045(b)
Telephonic Sellers Registration Form - PDF(572K)
Now accepting Visa, MasterCard, and Discover. Please call 907-269-5100 to pay your registration fee or complete the Credit Card Payment Form (PDF 550K) and fax or mail the form to:
State of Alaska, Department of Law
1031 W. 4th Avenue, Suite 200
Anchorage, AK 99501-1994
Some documents on this page require Adobe Reader (available as a free download) to view.