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How can you see if your 
contractor is licensed, 

bonded, insured, and what 
type of business license 

they have? 

Go on the web: 

commerce.alaska.gov/occ 

Call
 
(907) 269-8160
 

or
 
(907) 269-4925
 

Business hours 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. 

Monday through Friday
 

Visit our web site at: 
labor.alaska.gov/lss/mihome.htm 

Good, Safe Jobs are Alaska’s Future 

We are an equal opportunity employer/program.  Auxiliary aids and 
services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.  

Contractor Licensing 

Understanding 
Building Laws 

in the State of Alaska 
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General 

Contractor
 

AS 08.18.011 

• Required to have a business license 
in Alaska 

• MUST have a State Certifi cate of 
Registration as a Contractor 

• MUST have a bond and insurance 

• MAY NOT undertake the 
construction or alteration of a 
privately owned residential structure 
of one to four units or advertise to 
do this work without a Residential 
Contractor Endorsement 

• “Handymen” ARE NOT allowed to 
contract* on a project which has a 
total OVERALL VALUE of $10,000, 
such as a new home or renovation 

•  A “Handyman” CAN NOT act as a 
general contractor or be sub-
contracted on a new home, 
commercial structure or renovation 
unless they hold a current contractor 
registration 

*Local laws may have further restrictions 

Residential 

Contractor
 

AS 08.18.025 

• Required to have a business 
license in Alaska 

• MUST have a State Certificate 
of Registration as a Contractor 
with a Residential Contractor 
Endorsement 

• MUST have a bond and 
insurance 

• MUST pass a Residential 
Endorsement Exam 

• MUST take a course in arctic 
engineering or the Alaska 
Craftsman Home Program or the 
equivalent to either 

• MUST take continuing 
competency education relating to 
residential contracting 16 contact 
hours every two years 

Builder** 


AS 08.18.161(12) 

• An owner who acts as his own 
contractor is limited to building: 

(1) ONE HOME 
four-plex or 

(1) ONE COMMERCIAL 
BUILDING 

**The changes to Alaska 
Statute 08.18.125 went into 
effect on June 21, 2006, which 
put in place a civil penalt 
$1000 for violation f 
offense and $1500 f 
offenses. This 
other punitiv 


