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Are you tired of being ripped 

off by shady retailers or dealing 

with that lemon of a car? 

Are telephone solicitors 

driving you crazy? 

This brochure discusses 

some Alaska consumer 

laws that may help you. 

Alaska’s Unfair Trade 

Practices and Consumer 

Protection Act, 

commonly called the 

Consumer Protection 

Act, prohibits unfair 

or deceptive 

business practices. 

Information about 

consumer protection issues and 

the consumer complaint form 


are available online at: 


www.law.state.ak.us/consumer 

You can also request 

a complaint form by contacting:
 

State of Alaska
 
Department of Law
 

1031 W. Fourth Avenue, Suite 200 

Anchorage, AK 99501 


(907) 269-5200


 1-888-576-2529
 
(toll free from outside of Anchorage) 

Additional consumer information 
is available from the Federal Trade 

Commission at www.ftc.gov. 

This brochure was paid for with funds obtained through court settlements 
and designated for consumer protection, enforcement, and education. 

Consumer 
Protection 
in Alaska 

State of Alaska 
Department of Law 
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THE ALASKA CONSUMER PROTECTION ACT
 
Examples of illegal conduct under the Act include: 

What You Can Do 

Consumers can bring their own lawsuits under 
the Act to stop illegal conduct or obtain restitution. 
They can seek triple damages or up to $500, 
whichever is greater. 

To find a lawyer to represent you, you can contact 
the Alaska Bar Association’s Attorney Referral 
Line at (907) 272-0352, or (800) 770-9999 outside 
of Anchorage. Alaska Legal Services Corporation 
(www.alsc-law.org) also provides legal assistance for 
low-income Alaskans with consumer claims. 

If you want to recover money or personal 
property worth $10,000 or less, you can bring a case 
in small claims court. You do not need to have a 
lawyer to bring a small claims case. Information 
about how to file a small claims case is available at: 
www.state.ak.us/courts/forms/sc-100.pdf. 

The Lemon Law 
Protects buyers of 
new vehicles. 

Buyer may be able 
to obtain a refund or 
replacement vehicle 
if the vehicle is 
defective and had not 
been properly repaired 
after a reasonable 
number of attempts. 

Using deception, fraud, or misrepresentation in the sale 
or advertisement of goods or services. 

Engaging in false advertising, including advertising 
a “sale” or “special” price which is really a regular 
price, or holding a “going out business” sale when the 
business does not intend to close. 

Role of the Attorney General 

The Act allows the attorney general to seek a court 
order (“injunction”) to stop illegal conduct, restitution 
(refunds) for consumers, civil penalties from $1000 to 
$25,000, and other relief. 

In determining whether to bring a lawsuit to 
enforce consumer laws, the Attorney General’s Offi ce 
reviews consumer complaints for patterns of illegal 
conduct. If you have been the victim of an unfair 
business practice, we encourage you to file a complaint 

OTHER ALASKA CONSUMER PROTECTION LAWS 

Alaska has other laws designed to protect consumers. Some of these laws include: 

The Telephonic Solicitations Act 
Requires telemarketers during 
the first 15 seconds of a call to 
disclose the telemarketer’s name 
and telephone number, whom 
the telemarketer represents, and 
that the call is a sales call. 

If the consumer says he or she is 
not interested, the telemarketer 
must end the call immediately. 

The Charitable Solicitations Act 
Requires paid fundraisers (“paid solicitors”) to disclose 
their name, the charity’s name and address, how and 
where the donation will be used, and that a copy of the 
charity’s financial statements and its contract with the 
paid solicitor are available upon request. 

Representing that goods or services have 
certain characteristics, uses, or benefi ts that 
they do not have. 

Conducting phone solicitations to a person 
who has signed up for the national do 
not call registry, or initiating a telephonic 
solicitation by using recorded messages. 

so that it is included in this 
review process. 

The Attorney General’s 
Office can not provide legal 
advice or representation to 
private citizens regarding 
their consumer rights. You 
should consult a private 
attorney about your legal claims. 

The Five Day Cooling Off Rule 
Gives buyers five days to cancel a purchase of goods or 
services costing $10 or more if the sale occurs at a place 
other than the seller’s place of business.  

The Regulation of Motor Vehicle Repairs 
Requires repair shops 

to give the consumer a 

written estimate before 

they begin work on the 

vehicle, but only if the 

consumer requests a 

written estimate. The 

shop cannot exceed 

this estimate unless it 

obtains the consumer’s
 
authorization.
 


